Social Work Commencement

We're excited to be celebrating our Commencement for the Class of 2021 on Friday, May 14. Only registered graduates and guests (maximum of four) may attend, but you can watch a live stream of both our ceremonies here or on Facebook

  • M.S.W. - 9 a.m. ET
  • B.S.W. - 1 p.m. ET


Our team

« Back

Jaime Petrasek portrait

Jaime Petrasek

Director of research administration


Phone: (804) 827-3631

B.M., Baldwin Wallace University

Jaime Petrasek is a senior-level research and financial administrator who provides subject matter expertise and technical guidance, while serving as a professional interface between the VCU School of Social Work and both internal and external entities related to grant and research development and funding. Petrasek works directly with faculty and students to provide oversight on matters involving both externally sponsored and internally funded research.

Petrasek works closely with the Dean and the school’s executive team to develop program goals and policy. Petrasek is actively involved in the day to day operations of the SSW Research Office; she directs financial/compliance/administrative operations, and develops the infrastructure necessary to support both sponsored and internally funded project activity. In addition, she is an active contributor to institutional committees focused on improving research administration policies and procedures, compliance, and management systems.

Notable awards, honors and appointments

  • VCU Committee on the Association of Research   
  • Leader and founding member, VCU Monroe Park Campus Research Administrators                    
  • Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute, Class of 2017
  • VCU: Ready, Set, GRANT! Workshop Presenter
  • VCU Fall Forum and Research Expo Presenter and Program Chair
  • Working group director for the development of VCU MPCRA Wiki
  • Society of Research Administrators
  • National Council of University Research Administrators
    • NCURA RAMP III Mentorship Program Committee Chair and Director
    • NCURA National Diversity and Inclusion Task Force, appointed member
    • NCURA Region III Regional Conference Program Committee Chair
    • NCURA National and Region III Workshop and Session Presenter