Advising

Advising is an important element in the professional education of all students. Each student has an advisor who can:

  • Assist in planning a program of study
  • Discuss academic progress based on information from instructors
  • Refer students to school and university resources
  • Interpret academic policies, rules and regulations
  • Assist with students’ integration of learning experiences
  • Advocate on behalf of students

Student success advising team

Director of advising and retention

Sarah Burton-Everette
severette2@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1043

Sarah Burton-Everette headshot

Senior advisor

Jazmyn Porter
porterj2@vcu.edu
(804) 628-7089

Jazmyn Porter headshot

Upper-level B.S.W. advisor

Robert Anderson
andersonrl5@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0567

Robert Anderson headshot

Lower-level B.S.W. advisor

Karen Meister
kmeister@vcu.edu
(804) 827-3970

Karen Meister headshot

On-campus M.S.W. advisor

Madison Woodroof
woodroofm@vcu.edu
(804) 828-3405

Madison Woodruff, M.S.W. on-campus adviser

Online M.S.W. advisor

Lakeita Clarkson
clarksonlf@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1407

Lakeita Clarkson headshot

Online M.S.W. advisor

Allison McLarin
mclarina@vcu.edu
(804) 827-0788

Allison McLarin headshot

M.S.W. online writing advisor

Audrey Walls
awalls@vcu.edu
(804) 828-3491

Audrey Walls, M.S.W. online writing adviser

Online M.S.W. student support coaches

Support coaches check in with online M.S.W. students at various points each semester to promote persistence, academic success and community. They are a go-to for general questions and are skilled at connecting students with school and university resources. Our four coaches are:

Arielle Krimotat

krimotata@vcu.edu

Headshot of Arielle_Krimotat

Hannah Rodriguez

rodriguezh@vcu.edu

Headshot of Hannah Rodriguez

Alisha Tysor

tysora@vcu.edu

Headshot of Alisha Tysor

Dominique Williams

williamsd21@vcu.edu

Headshot of Dominique Williams

Contact us

Have questions for an advisor? If you're not sure which advisor to contact directly, please reach out to sswadvising@vcu.edu.