Advising

Advising is an important element in the professional education of all students. Each student has an advisor who can:

  • Assist in planning a program of study
  • Discuss academic progress based on information from instructors
  • Refer students to school and university resources
  • Interpret academic policies, rules and regulations
  • Assist with students’ integration of learning experiences
  • Advocate on behalf of students

Student success advising team

Director of advising and retention

Sarah Burton-Everette
severette2@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1043

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

All students

Sarah Burton-Everette headshot

Senior advisor

Jazmyn Porter
porterj2@vcu.edu
(804) 628-7089

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

Online M.S.W. students

  • Tuesdays & Thursdays, 8-9 a.m. ET on Zoom. Please RSVP.
Jazmyn Porter headshot

Upper-level B.S.W. advisor

Robert Anderson
andersonrl5@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0567

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

Upper-level B.S.W. students

  • Tuesdays, 1-2 p.m. ET on Zoom
  • Thursdays, 2-3 p.m. ET on-campus
Robert Anderson headshot

Lower-level B.S.W. advisor

Karen Meister
kmeister@vcu.edu
(804) 827-3970

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

Lower-level B.S.W. students

  • Vary throughout the semester; please email for latest information
Karen Meister headshot

On-campus M.S.W. advisor

Julie Pence
pencejm@vcu.edu
(804) 828-2836

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

On-campus M.S.W. students

  • Tuesdays & Fridays, 11 a.m.-noon ET on-campus
Julie Pence headshot

Online M.S.W. advisor

Lakeita Clarkson
clarksonlf@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1407

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

Online M.S.W. students

  • Thursdays, 11 a.m.-1 p.m. ET on Zoom
Lakeita Clarkson headshot

M.S.W. online writing advisor

Audrey Walls
awalls@vcu.edu
(804) 828-3491

Fall 2022 drop-in hours

Online M.S.W. students (writing only)

Audrey Walls, M.S.W. online writing adviser

Online M.S.W. student support coaches

Support coaches check in with students in the online M.S.W. format at various points each semester to promote persistence, academic success and community. They are a go-to for general questions and are skilled at connecting students with school and university resources. Our four coaches are:

Arielle Krimotat

krimotata@vcu.edu

Headshot of Arielle_Krimotat

Hannah Rodriguez

rodriguezh@vcu.edu

Headshot of Hannah Rodriguez

Brittney Spence

spenceb2@vcu.edu

Brittney Spence headshot

Alisha Tysor

tysora@vcu.edu

Headshot of Alisha Tysor

Contact us

Have questions for an advisor? If you're not sure which advisor to contact directly, please reach out to sswadvising@vcu.edu.